Board & Advisors

The Forbes Funds is guided by an elected Board of Directors and an appointed Advisory Committee.  They are comprised of individuals who are established leaders-- skilled at handling community affairs and devoted to its improvement.

The 2011-2012 Board of Directors

The elected members of the Board of Directors are committed community leaders. Each Board Member holds a three-year term and may be re-elected.

Charles R. Burke, Jr., Chairman

Charles R. Burke, Jr. (Chip) is a life long resident of Pittsburgh and is currently the Chairman of The Grable Foundation. After earning his Master’s Degree, Chip taught at The Linsly School in Wheeling, West Virginia. His board service includes the boards of Advancing Academics, Carnegie Science Center, The Forbes Fund, The Fred Rogers Company, Frick Art & Historical Center, KidsVoice, Pittsburgh Cultural Trust, Pittsburgh Child Guidance Foundation, the Pittsburgh Three Rivers Marathon and the Fox Chapel Area School Board.

Scott Lammie

Scott Lammie serves as Chief Financial Officer of UPMC Health Plan and Sr. Vice President of UPMC's Insurance Services Division. Since September, 1990, Mr. Lammie has held key business, financial, and operational leadership positions at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center(UPMC) which have supported the Health System's evolution, growth, and development into one of the nation's leading integrated delivery and financing health systems.

Mr. Lammie is active in various volunteer board leadership capacities with non-profit civic, economic development, and community service organizations supporting the greater Pittsburgh community.  Current Board Affiliations include: Laurel Highlands Council Boy Scouts of America, Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank, Hill House Association, Little Sisters of the Poor, Manchester Bidwell Corporation, Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens, Urban Innovation21, United Way of Allegheny County Impact Cabinet, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh Cultural Trust Corporate Circles Board and The Forbes Funds.

Grant Oliphant

Grant Oliphant has been President of the Pittsburgh Foundation since February 2008. He came to the Foundation from The Heinz Endowments, where he had been Associate Director. In that role, he directed the Endowment's strategic planning and evaluation process designed to continually sharpen its focus, maximize its impact, encourage collaboration among its programs, and foster a culture of excellence within the organization. He also managed the foundation's strategic communications activities, which were designed to heighten the effectiveness of its grantmaking through the use of techniques such as social marketing, media advocacy, and general information dissemination.

Mr. Oliphant joined the Endowments in 1993 as Director of Communications for the Heinz Family Philanthropies and as speechwriter and spokesman for Teresa Heinz. Mr. Oliphant is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Swarthmore College, where he received his Bachelor of Arts in history with high honors. He served on the board of Pennsylvania Partnerships for Children and is a past member of the board of the National Children's Book and Literacy Alliance.

Brian K. Parker, Secretary

Mr. Parker is a Partner at McGuire Woods LLP. He co-chairs the Life Science Industry Group and defends innovative and generic pharmaceutical companies in safety and efficacy litigation involving both prescription and over-the-counter drugs. He has defended domestic and foreign pharmaceutical manufacturers in individual and multi-district litigation relating to single cell and biological compounds. He regularly advises pharmaceutical and medical device companies on compliance and regulatory issues.

He has varied litigation experience handling matters for regional and national firm clients involving industrial equipment, commercial contract, environmental and intellectual property issues. He has a regional and growing national reputation in defending Fortune 200 and 300 companies in high exposure litigation notwithstanding the jurisdiction. This litigation experience has allowed him to serve as national coordinating litigation counsel for multiple firm clients.

Nancy Rackoff

Biography coming soon.

2011-2012 Advisory Committee Members

The Advisory Committee is comprised of dedicated volunteers who are outstanding community leaders in our region. Each Advisory Committee Member holds a three-year term and may be re-appointed.

  • Charles Burke, Jr., Chair
  • Heather Arnet
  • Henry J. Beukema
  • Susan Brownlee
  • Esther L. Bush
  • John Camillus
  • Marc K. Cherna
  • Morton Coleman
  • Estelle Comay
  • Aradhna Oliphant
  • Karen Wolk Feinstein
  • Margaret P. Joy
  • Kevin P. Kearns
  • Ellen G. Kight
  • Grant Oliphant
  • Phillip Pappas
  • Brian Parker
  • Robert B. Pease
  • Margaret M. Petruska
  • Walter Smith
  • Jane Werner